Skip Navigation
Quicklinks
Texas Counties Deliver

Marriage License

Marriage License Application hours

Monday- Friday 8:00 A.M. - 4:30 P.M.

Marriage License Fees

Without Premarital Course Certificate $82.00 TX Local Government Code: 118.018
With Premarital Course $22.00 TX Local Government Code: 118.018
Informal Marriage (Common Law) $47.00 TX Local Government Code: 118.019

 

Acceptable Forms Of ID
  • drivers license or identification card (not expired for more then 2 years)
  • United States Passport or current passport issued by foreign country
  • unexpired Certificate of U.S. Citizenship, or other document issued by federal Dept. of Homeland Security or the U.S. Dept. of State including identification photo.
  • unexpired military identification card
  • certified copy of birth certificate
  • certified copy of Consular Report of Birth Abroad 
  • offender identification card
  • license to carry
  • pilot's license
  • voter registration certificate
  • certified copy of divorce decree, military records, motor vehicle title, insurance policies, school records

72 Hour Waiting Period

Per Texas Family Code 2.204 a marriage ceremony may not take place during the 72-hour period immediately following the issuance of the marriage license. This waiting period does not apply to a member of the armed forces of the United States and on active duty; Department of Defense; obtains a written waiver from a Judge with family law jurisdiction; completes a premarital education course approved by the State as described in Section 2.013.

WAIVER OF SEVENTY TWO HOUR WAITING PERIOD

 

Court Order for Underage Applicant

For an underage applicant that is less than 18 years of age, you must have a Court Order Granting Permission to Marry in order to apply for a marriage license as per Texas Family Code Section 2.003A.

 

Absent Applicant

If an applicant who is 18 years of age or older is unable to appear personally to apply, any adult person or the other applicant may apply on behalf of the absent applicant. Notwithstanding, Subsection (a), the clerk may not issue a license for which both applicants are absent unless the person applying on behalf of each applicant provides to the clerk an affidavit of the applicant declaring the applicant is a member of the armed forced of the United States stationed in another country in support of combat or another military operation.

AFFIDAVIT OF ABSENT APPLICANT FOR MARRIAGE LICENSE

 

State Approved Premarital Education Courses

72 hour waiting period is waived and the cost of the license in reduced to $22.00. For more information, please visit:

Twogether in Texas

 

Correction To Marriage License

Texas Family Code Section 2.209(c) provides for corrections to a recorded marriage license provided that both parties to the marriage execute a notarized affidavit stating the error.

AFFIDAVIT FOR CORRECTION OF A MARRIAGE RECORD

 

 

 

Note: We accept cashier’s checks, money orders, checks, credit cards, and cash. Make any checks and/or money orders payable to "Polk County Clerk".

Copyright © {{YEAR}} {{COUNTY}} {{STATE}}

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM