Skip Navigation
Quicklinks
Texas Counties Deliver

Assumed Names

ASSUMED NAME FORM (DBA)

ABANDONMENT

LETTER FROM POLK COUNTY APPRAISAL DISTRICT

ASSUMED NAME (DBA) $25.00
 

      *includes indexing of 2 names: business name & 1 owner name*

EACH ADDITIONAL NAME INDEXED

$.50

 
ABANDONMENT

$15.00

 
COPIES $1.00
 
 Certified Copy.
$5.00  

 

Effective September 1, 2017
HB 1646: A clerk MAY waive fees associated with the filing of an assumed name certificate or statement of abandonment for a registrant who is a military veteran.
**Proper ID proving veteran status at the time of filing will be required by the Polk County Clerk's Office**

 

OVERVIEW

Each person who regularly conducts business or provides professional services and is not a corporation, limited partnership, limited liability company in Polk County must file an Assumed Name Certificate with the County Clerk's Office so that a record of a business is available.  

 

**As of September 1, 2019, the Polk County Clerk's Office will no longer record/file Incorporated Assumed Named. That form will be registered with the Secretary of State's Office only.**

 

OTHER INFORMATION

Before using the forms above, you should always seek the guidance of a professional tax consultant, accountant, bank and/or attorney to verify that all legal requirements are met before filing this Assumed Name Form.

The County Clerk cannot determine the legal structure of your business or advise in completing the Assumed Name Certificate as required by the Texas Business and Commerce Code.

As the filer you are personally responsible for the accuracy of the information you provide. The County Clerk's official duty is to file the completed form.

An Assumed Name Certificate if good for 10 years from the date of filing unless a shorter time is specified on the certificate.

 

ABANDONMENT/WITHDRAWAL

It is necessary to file an Abandonment of Assumed Name if the business closes, the business address changes, or if one or more partners in the business wishes to withdraw.

 

RESOURCES

 

 

Note: We accept cashier’s checks, money orders, checks, credit cards, and cash. Make any checks and/or money orders payable to "Polk County Clerk".

Copyright © {{YEAR}} {{COUNTY}} {{STATE}}

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM